The Current Lab Students & Staff
Look at all those smiles!

Recent News

Tuesday, August 10, 2021
A new M.Sc student has joined the lab! Welcome aboard, Ishvin.

Saturday, July 3, 2021
Congratulations to Ivan, Taryn, Christy, and Andis for publishing a review about understudied microglial neurotoxins in Neurochemistry International. Way to go!

Thursday, May 6, 2021
A new undergrad just joined the lab! Welcome, Victoria.

Wednesday, May 5, 2021
Seamus received an Oral Presentation Runner-Up award at the UBCO Biology Undergraduate Research Conference last week! Well done!

Saturday, May 1, 2021
Congratulations to Taryn for finishing the last classes of her undergraduate degree. Also, today is the first official day of grad studies for Shirley. Good luck, both of you!

Thursday, April 15, 2021
Today, Andis published a paper called Targeting Neuroprotective Functions of Astrocytes in Neuroimmune Disease in the journal Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Targets. Congratulations!

Tuesday, March 16, 2021
All three of our continuing undergrads received summer research awards! Congrats to Anna, Christy, and Seamus.

Thursday, January 28, 2021
Today our lab published a paper about extracellular cardiolipin as a regulator of microglia-mediated inflammation. Congrats to the authors: Tyler, Athena, Seamus, and Andis.

Thursday, November 19, 2020
Tyler's thesis was approved and submitted today! Congratulations, Dr. Wenzel!

Tuesday, October 6, 2020
After defending and submitting her thesis, Ellen has graduated from the M.Sc program. Way to go!

"Chance favors the prepared mind."
- Louis Pasteur (1822-95)
"Discovery consists of looking at the same thing as everyone else and thinking something different."
- Nobel Laureate Albert Szent-Gyorgyi